Basic Rider Course
The Basic Rider Course (BRC) Fee: $180.00
Minnesota law requires anyone under age 18 to pass an approved rider training course. Common sense dictates the same for new riders of any age. While no previous motorcycle riding experience is required, it can be beneficial. We recommend that students with absolutely no riding experience take a course that takes place over three to four days.
The BRC is about 15 hours long and combines practice riding on a closed-off parking lot and valuable classroom discussion. The riding portions begin with very basic skills, such as mounting the motorcycle and identifying its controls, and builds steadily upward from there. The course is divided into two levels. Level I concentrates on motorcycle familiarization, clutch control, throttle control, riding posture, and the four basic skills: straight-line riding, turning, smooth shifting, and stopping quickly. Level II uses the four basic skills to develop a variety of street skills including limited-space maneuvers, counter steering, cornering, and swerving. The classroom discussions help prepare you for the on-cycle portions of the course and provide you with critical knowledge you'll need to ride on the street. Topics include protective gear, mind and machine preparation, risk management, rider responsibility, street strategies, special riding situations, alcohol and drug impairment, and motorcycle laws and equipment requirements. Previous motorcycle riding experience is not required to enroll in this course (although it can be very helpful). However, you must be physically able to balance and ride a bicycle.
Please note that the MMSC does not guarantee your instant success. While many students pass on their first try, it is not at all uncommon to have to take the class more than once.
- Training motorcycles are provided and include: Honda CM250 Custom, CM200T, Nighthawk 250, CB125S, CB125TT, Rebel 250, NX125; Suzuki GN125, GN250, GZ250, DR125; Kawasaki KE100, Eliminator 125; and Yamaha Route 66 250.
- You may ride your own motorcycle, any size, in the course. Other state programs have shown that larger bikes can be used successfully in the course, even Gold Wings! Your bike must be street legal, licensed, insured, and in compliance with the equipment requirements outlined in the Minnesota Motorcycle Manual. You must show proof of insurance to the instructor.
- The BRC offers complete, quality training in a small-class size environment. You'll get 15 hours of instruction: 5 hours classroom and 10 hours of practice riding! The classroom and on-cycle instruction are integrated for maximum skill development.
- The MMSC is accredited by the national Motorcycle Safety Foundation and licensed by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety.
- Graduates may be eligible for insurance discounts as well as incentives from motorcycle manufacturers and dealerships.
- Riders must be at least 15 years old. Parents of those under age 18 must sign a consent/release form prior to on-cycle instruction. Course graduates must wait until they turn 16 to get their driver's licenses and motorcycle endorsements.
- Students must possess either a valid driver's license or motor vehicle instruction permit.
- Students must furnish their own protective clothing (eye protection, long sleeves, long pants, full-fingered gloves, and over-the-ankle footwear) and DOT-approved helmet.
- Students must be able to ride a bicycle, as the skill of balancing is not taught in this course.
- Generally, courses will run rain or shine. However, the instructor may postpone the course because of weather conditions.
- To successfully complete the course, 100% attendance is required. Participants must pass a written knowledge test and the on-cycle skill test.
- Students 18 years or older who possess a valid motorcycle permit and successfully complete the course may take advantage of the State Skill Test Waiver and receive their motorcycle endorsement.