RCTC leadership recognized at LeadMN assembly

Echo staff report

Past and present members of RCTC leadership were recognized with awards from LeadMN, the statewide student association for community and technical college students.

Interim President Dr. Mary Davenport was awarded the LeadMN 2018 President of the Year Award at the LeadMN General Assembly in Breezy Point, Minnesota. RCTC graduate Heather Darby received the Alumni of the Year Award.

Darby was RCTCís Student Senate president in 1999-2000 and now serves as a board member of the LeadMN Alumni Association, which provides networking and fundraising opportunities for LeadMN graduates. This is the second time Darby has been honored with this award.

ìThis alumni has been a huge help to what goes on behind the scenes,î said Chelsea Self, Public Relations Coordinator for LeadMN, ìfrom reading hundreds of scholarship applications to assisting with our annual scholarship gala.î

Davenport has served as RCTCís interim president since July 2016. Her retirement this summer marks the end of a three-decade career of serving Minnesota State students, faculty and staff.

ìPresident Davenport embodies everything that is great about the Minnesota State community,î said Mike Dean, executive director of LeadMN. ìShe goes to work every day with the goal of making an impact on student lives by encouraging an educational environment that propels students to reach for the stars.î

RCTC Student Senate President Sarah Brakebill-Hacke added, ìI learned more about leadership from President Davenport than anyone I have ever known. There is no person that could possibly deserve this award more than President Davenport, and I offer my heartfelt thanks and congratulations to her on a job well done.î