Finalists for President of Rochester Community and Technical College Named

ST. PAUL, Minn., Feb. 15, 2018 – Minnesota State has named the finalists who are under consideration to become the next president of Rochester Community and Technical College. The candidates are Jeffery Boyd, Utpal Goswami, and Charles Nwankwo.

The candidates were recommended by a search advisory committee comprised of students, faculty, staff, and community leaders and chaired by Pat Johns, president of Lake Superior College. The candidates are scheduled to visit the RCTC campus between February 20 and February 22. The campus visits present an opportunity for students, faculty, staff, and members of the community to meet and offer feedback on each of the candidates.

Jeffery Boyd has served Tidewater Community College (VA) as the provost of the Norfolk campus since 2014. Previously, he served Elgin Community College (IL) from 2006 to 2014, Quad County Urban League in 2005, Olivet Nazarene University (IL) from 2003 to 2004, and Waubonsee Community College (IL) from 2001 to 2003. He holds an associate degree from San Joaquin Delta College (CA), a bachelor’s degree from Judson University (IL), a master’s from the University of Phoenix (AZ), and a doctorate from National Louis University (IL).

Utpal Goswami has served as president of MCC-Maple Woods, a campus of the Metropolitan Community College district (MO), since 2013. Previously, he served the College of the Redwoods (CA) from 2010 to 2013, Yavapai College (AZ) from 2006 to 2010, St. Louis Community College-Meramec (MO) from 2001 to 2006, and Schreiner University from 1987 to 2001. He holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Delhi, a master’s degree from Boston University, and a master’s and a doctorate from Southern Methodist University.

Charles Nwankwo has served Chandler-Gilbert Community College (AZ) since 2014 in several capacities including his current roles as interim vice president of Academic Affairs and vice president of Information Technology & Media Services/CIO. Previously, he served SOWELA Technical Community College (LA) from 2008 to 2014, and the Houston Community College System from 1995 to 2008. He holds a bachelor’s degree and a master’s from the University of Houston-Clear Lake, and a doctorate from the University of Texas.

The Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities is expected to act on Interim Chancellor Devinder Malhotra’s recommendation of a final candidate at its March 21 meeting. The new president is expected to begin in July 2018.