Fall General Election

Congratulations to the below students who were elected Senators for the 2019-2020 year! Thank you to all who applied!

Career and Technical Education Candidates

Jeff Fredrickson

Fatima Mohamed

Sciences and Health Professions Candidates

Carroll Harrod

Faduma Farah

Hannah McMillin

Liberal Arts and General Education Candidates

Christine Lawrence

Huda Abbadi

Francis Fuenffinger

Rajarshi Nandy



There are up to 20 Student Senator positions available. As stated under Article VI, Section 3 of the Constitution, Senators shall be apportioned among the academic disciplines according to percentage of FYE enrollment. These academic disciplines include: Career and Technical Education, Sciences and Health Professions & Liberal Arts and General Education. The ratio being used is 1 senator per 200 students.

Benefits of being a Student Senator include, but are not limited to:

  • Senator positions are paid $175 per semester
  • Travel opportunities for LEAD MN and student government conferences
  • Leadership training and development
  • Learning about local, state, and national politics
  • Networking with students, staff, faculty and administrators
  • Gaining applicable life skills to help you succeed in, and beyond, college
  • Making noticeable change and impact at RCTC
  • Creating a network of friends

If you are interested in Student Government, please contact the Student President Mohamud Mohamed at SG@my.rctc.edu or you can fill out the form online here. Please review the Elections Handbook.


Any currently enrolled RCTC student will have the ability to vote in the General Election. This is a chance to elect the right student leaders to represent you, the students! Voting will take place through a secure D2L online platform. Follow these simple instructions to access the vote September 16-17, 2019:

  1. Access rctc.learn.minnstate.edu and log into D2L with your StarID
  2. Select “View All Courses”
  3. Find and enter the course that aligns with your first declared major:
    • Student Government Fall Election 2019-Liberal Arts and General Education
    • Student Government Fall Election 2019- Sciences and Health Profession
    • Student Government Fall Election 2019- Career and Technical Education
  4. Select Content and Materials to read the candidate biographies
  5. Select Assessments and Vote to vote in the election